Vindic8ed

I have finally gotten an acknowledgement that I was right about something I knew I had been right about for many years. It shouldn’t be important, but it is important. It was one of those gnawing things that created a barrier for my life and some of my personal interactions. It is gone.

I read the email over and over. Seeing the words is like hitting the lottery emotionally so I read them, savoring each letter that creates the words and they taste delicious. Like every good thing in one entire meal and you never get full and you can keep on eating.

“You were right”

Why does it matter to be right? It usually doesn’t and I generally have to blow off the need to be right and instead enjoy serenity, not waste time proving myself.

For now I feel vindicated.

Hope dangles on a string
Like slow spinning redemption
Winding in and winding out
The shine of it has caught my eye

And roped me in
So mesmerizing, so hypnotizing 
I am captivated

I am Vindicated
I am selfish
I am wrong
I am right
I swear I’m right
I swear I knew it all along

And I am flawed 
But I am cleaning up so well
I am seeing in me now the things you swore you saw yourself

So clear
Like the diamond in your ring
Cut to mirror your intentions
Oversized and overwhelmed
The shine of which has caught my eye
And rendered me so isolated, so motivated
I am certain now that I am vindicated

–Dashboard Confessional

A song I’ve loved for a long time and right now it’s my personal theme song. When I come in the room, press play.

Leave a Reply

